Loreto College

Loreto College crowned U17 Boys National Schools Champions 2019

Loreto College U17 Boys were crowned Dynamic English Schools champions after beating Charnwood College 92-78 at the National Basketball Performance Centre on Friday morning.

Josh Grant was named MVP after scoring 24 points and bagging countless rebounds, with Luke Gordos (16), Malachi Boakye-Yiadom (15) and Noah Tchifounga (10) also reaching double figures.

Dan Gargan (9), Saul May (6), Jason Ani (6), Ty Jordan (4) and Mo Shegow (2) also got on the scoresheet for Loreto.

Coached by Pete Paraskeva, Loreto started well, opening up an 8-0 lead before finishing the first quarter 23-15 up.

That advantage became 14 towards the end of the second, before a late Charnwood rally closed the gap to 7 by the halftime interval.

Despite the loss of Ani to injury, Loreto took firm control in the third quarter, going 22 points up, before easing to victory in the fourth despite another late charge from their opponents.

Former Manchester Magic player Greg Wild scored 29 points for Charnwood.

Loreto: Josh Grant, Dylan Consterdine, Saul May, Henry Lythe De Pee, Malachi Boakye-Yiadom, Ty Jordan, Dan Gargan, Noah Tchifounga, Luke Gordos, Jason Ani, Mo Shegow.

For more information about Loreto College, visit the official website: http://www.loreto.ac.uk/

For more information about Manchester Magic’s basketball academy, contact Phil Gordos at phil.gordos@manchestermagicandmystics.co.uk or on 0161 881 0090.